Please read as our reading periods have changed:

Starting July 1, 2016, The Los Angeles Review is open for submissions year-round.  

All submissions received from this point forward will be considered for the new online format being launched in June 2017 and for the best-of print edition to be released Spring 2018.

We encourage submitters to familiarize themselves with our journal before sending work. Ordering information can be found at www.losangelesreview.org.

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit 3-5 poems that will surprise us, wow us, and make us wish we’d written them ourselves. We are open to form, free verse, prose poems, and experimental styles. Our only criterion is quality. Please send all poems in a single document; do not submit or attach each poem separately.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

If a poem is accepted elsewhere, please add a note to that effect in your submission. Do not withdraw the entire submission if want us to consider the remaining poems. 

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

We’re looking for hard-to-put-down shorts under 1,000 words as well as sequences of such shorts and/or stand-alone lengthier stories up to 4,000 words–and regardless of length, we always hope to see lively, vivid, excellent literary fiction.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit an essay, memoir, or commentary told as compelling, focused, sustained narrative in a distinctive voice, rich with detail. Send 1,000-4,000 words or delight us with flash nonfiction that cat-burgles our expectations. Direct correspondence to lareview.nonfiction@gmail.com

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit no more than 5 poems (single-spaced) or 5 pages of prose (double-spaced). Include biographical notes for both the author and the translator. Your submission must be accompanied by 1) the original text and 2) a letter from the rights holder stating that you have permission to translate and publish the work in the United States. If you cannot provide #2, we may still print your work, but please remember that obtaining permissions is the translator's responsibility. Thank you for sending us your work--we look forward to reading it.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.