Please read as our reading periods have changed:

Starting July 1, 2016, The Los Angeles Review is open for submissions year-round.  

All submissions received from this point forward will be considered for the new online format being launched in June 2017 and for the best-of print edition to be released Spring 2018.

We encourage submitters to familiarize themselves with our journal before sending work. Ordering information can be found at www.losangelesreview.org.

Ends in 3 days, 8 hours $ 20.00
$ 20.00

The Los Angeles Review is pleased to announce its LAR Fall Flash Fiction Award. A prize of $1,000 and publication in The Los Angeles Review are given biannually for an exceptional flash fiction piece. Fall judge is Brian Doyle

• Please submit one flash fiction piece of up to 500 words. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately at assteditor@losangelesreview.org if your story is accepted elsewhere.

• Only previously unpublished pieces are considered for the LAR Fall Flash Fiction Award. Entries are not considered for general inclusion in The Los Angeles Review.

• Entry fee is $20.

• The winner will be selected in spring 2017 and announced via our website and a Red Hen Press press release.

• The winning piece will be published online during our new-format launch month in June 2017 and will also be included in the best-of print issue released in Spring 2018.

•  In the cover letter field of each submission, include author’s name, mailing address, email address, and telephone number. Do NOT include this information in the submitted file.

• Please direct questions to assteditor@losangelesreview.org.


Ends in 3 days, 8 hours $ 20.00
$ 20.00

The Los Angeles Review is pleased to announce its  LAR Fall Creative Nonfiction Award. A prize of $1,000 and publication in The Los Angeles Review are given biannually for an exceptional short creative nonfiction piece. Fall judge is Carol Becker.

• Please submit one piece of creative nonfiction of up to 1,500 words. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately at assteditor@gmail.losangelesreview.org if your piece is accepted elsewhere.

• Only previously unpublished pieces are considered for the LAR FallCreative Nonfiction Award. Entries are not considered for general inclusion in The Los Angeles Review.

• Entry fee is $20.

• The winner will be selected in spring 2017 and announced via our website and a Red Hen Press press release.

• The winning piece will be published online during our new-format launch month in June 2017 and will also be included in the best-of print issue released in Spring 2018.

•  In the cover letter field of each submission, include author’s name, mailing address, email address, and telephone number. Do NOT include this information in the submitted file.

• Please direct questions to assteditor@losangelesreview.org


Ends in 3 days, 8 hours $ 20.00
$ 20.00

The Los Angeles Review is pleased to announce its LAR Fall Poetry Award. A prize of $1,000 and publication in The Los Angeles Review are given bi-annually for an exceptional work of poetry. Fall judge is Julie Marie Wade.

• Please submit poems of no more than 50 lines each (not including line spaces or numbering). Authors may submit up to three poems with each entry. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately at assteditor@losangelesreview.org if your poems are accepted elsewhere.

• Only previously unpublished poems are considered for the LAR Fall Poetry Award. Entries are not considered for general inclusion in The Los Angeles Review.

• Entry fee is $20.

• The winner will be selected in spring 2017 and announced via our website and a Red Hen Press press release.

• The winning piece will be published online during our new-format launch month in June 2017 and will also be included in the best-of print issue released in Spring 2018.

•  In the cover letter field of each submission, include author’s name, mailing address, email address, and telephone number. Do NOT include this information in the submitted file.

• Please direct questions to assteditor@losangelesreview.org


Ends in 3 days, 8 hours $ 20.00
$ 20.00

The Los Angeles Review is pleased to announce its LAR Fall Short Fiction Award. A prize of $1,000 and publication in The Los Angeles Review are given biannually for an exceptional short fiction piece. Fall judge is Amy Hassinger.

• Please submit one story of up to 2,500 words. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately at assteditor@losangelesreview.org if your story is accepted elsewhere.

• Only previously unpublished stories are considered for the Los Angeles Review Short Fiction Award. Entries are not considered for general inclusion in The Los Angeles Review.

• Entry fee is $20.

• The winner will be selected in spring 2017 and announced via our website and a Red Hen Press press release.

• The winning piece will be published online during our new-format launch month in June 2017 and will also be included in the best-of print issue released in Spring 2018.

•  In the cover letter field of each submission, include author’s name, mailing address, email address, and telephone number. Do NOT include this information in the submitted file.

• Please direct questions to assteditor@losangelesreview.org


$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit 3-5 poems that will surprise us, wow us, and make us wish we’d written them ourselves. We are open to form, free verse, prose poems, and experimental styles. Our only criterion is quality. Please send all poems in a single document; do not submit or attach each poem separately.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

If a poem is accepted elsewhere, please add a note to that effect in your submission. Do not withdraw the entire submission if want us to consider the remaining poems. 

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

We’re looking for hard-to-put-down shorts under 1,000 words as well as sequences of such shorts and/or stand-alone lengthier stories up to 4,000 words–and regardless of length, we always hope to see lively, vivid, excellent literary fiction.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit an essay, memoir, or commentary told as compelling, focused, sustained narrative in a distinctive voice, rich with detail. Send 1,000-4,000 words or delight us with flash nonfiction that cat-burgles our expectations. Direct correspondence to lareview.nonfiction@gmail.com

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.

$ 3.00
$ 3.00

Please submit no more than 5 poems (single-spaced) or 5 pages of prose (double-spaced). Include biographical notes for both the author and the translator. Your submission must be accompanied by 1) the original text and 2) a letter from the rights holder stating that you have permission to translate and publish the work in the United States. If you cannot provide #2, we may still print your work, but please remember that obtaining permissions is the translator's responsibility. Thank you for sending us your work--we look forward to reading it.

All submissions received after July 1, 2016 will be considered for the new online edition of LAR launching June 1, 2016, and for the best-of print issue set to be released Spring 2018.